Afghanistan announce T20I, ODI squads for the series against West Indies

Afghanistan have named their ODI and T20 squads for the series against West Indies. The home series for Afghanistan will be played in India in the month of November. Dawlat Zadran, Shafiqullah Shafiq, Fazal Niazai, Najeeb Tarakzai and Shahidullah Kamal have been dropped from the T20I squad. The five players were part of the T20 squad for Bangladesh Tri-series played in the month of September. Leg-spinner Rashid Khan will lead Afghanistan for the three-match T20I series.

Ibrahim Zadran have shown excellent form with the bat in the domestic List A cricket and has earned his maiden call-up to the limited-overs squad. Zadran scored heavily for Amo Sharkas in the Sphageeza Cricket League.

Bowling all-rounder Javed Ahmadi has made a comeback into the T20 squad on the back of excellent performances in the domestic T20 competition. Ahmadi has been standout performer for Band-e-Amir Dragons in the Domestic T20 competition. Yahmin Ahmadzai, who is a regular in the Test format for Afghanistan, has been named in limited-overs squad for this series. He will be making his return to white-ball cricket after period of three years.

Wicket-keeper batsman Afsar Zazai has been included in the limited-overs squad as reserve keeper. Ikram Al-Khil is the first-choice keeper in white-ball cricket for Afghanistan.

Captain Rashid Khan will lead the team in both formats for Afghanistan in the ODI and T20I squads against West Indies.

ODI squad: Rashid Khan (captain), Asghar Afghan, Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Javed Ahmadi, Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Afsar Zazai, Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Nabi, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Ibrahim Zadran, Yamin Ahmadzai, Naveen ul Haq, Ikram Ali-Khil, Mujeeb ur Rahman.

T20I Squad: Rashid (c), Asghar Afghan, Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Javed Ahmadi, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Karim Janat, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Fareed Ahmad Malik, Yamin Ahmadzai, Naveen ul Haq, Sayed Ahmad Shirzad, Mujeeb ur Rahman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *