Ahmed Shehzad and Kamran Akmal earn recall into Pakistan’s T20 and Odi Squad for series in West Indies

On Wednesday Pakistan recalled two openers Ahmed Shehzad and Kamran in independent squads for the T20 Four match series and ODI series comprising three matches to be held in the Carribbean commencing in February.Both players earned their comeback on the basis of their stupendous performances in the recent Pakistan Super League (PSL) Series where they were competing with each other and serving opposite teams in the finale.

Twenty20 Limited over squad will be headed by Skipper Sarfraz Ahmed who will also serve as a wicketkeeper with the first game starting on March 26 in Barbados followed by the next three matches to be played in Port of Spain on 30th March, 1st and 2nd April 2017.

The ODI series will commence from 7th, 9th and 11th April 2017 and will all be held in Guyana. Shehzad was earlier excluded from the Twenty20 and ODI squad following the failure of Pakistan’s T20 team to India in 2016 on account of indiscipline by former coaching head Waqar Younis.

Since then he has shown sound steady form by scoring 653 & 286 in two ODI tournaments. Kamran Akmal, 35 year old opener played in 2014 for Pakistan in World T20 in Bangladesh and has exhibited incredible performance to mark his comeback in the side by scoring massive 353 runs and marked as a leading scorer in PSL.

Talking to the Media, Chief Selector Inzamam-ul-Haq reiterated that they have given more chances to the young players who had remarkable performances at the domestic level in addition to recalls for few senior players. Selection was also based on the level of fitness and that is the reason Umar Akmal couldn’t get a chance as he was lacking fitness.

The Twenty20 Limited over series will be followed by Three Test matches for which squad will be announced afterwards. Fast Bowler Mohammad Amir got included in the ODI squad and rested for the T20 limited over series. Former Skipper Azhar Ali was left out from the squad this time following his failure in series 4-1 which was held during January in Australia.

Leading fast bowler Mohammad Irfan and Batsmen Sharjeel Khan and Khalid Latif were left out due to their suspension on account of on-going investigation into suspected spot-fixing scandal that happened in the PSL 2017. These players were team mates for former PSL winners for Islamabad United

The 18 year old Shadab Khan, who is leg spinner and all-rounder made an impression on the selectors and made it to both squads for his remarkable performances in the PSL. Fakhar Zaman, 26 years old left hander batsmen also marked his inclusion due to his steady show at the domestic level. Whereas all-rounder Fahim Ashraf, the finest performer in last year’s National One-Day Cup, was selected in the 50-over squad.

Squads (Twenty20): Sarfraz Ahmed (c & wk) Ahmed Shehzad, Kamran Akmal (wk), Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Fakhar Zaman, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Hasan Ali, Sohail Tanvir, Wahab Riaz, Rumman Raees, Usman Shinwari.

One-day: Sarfraz Ahmed (c & wk), Ahmed Shehzad, Kamran Akmal (wk), Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Fakhar Zaman, Asif Zakir, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Asghar, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Fahim Ashraf, Junaid Khan


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.