Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal included in the T20 squad for Sri Lanka series

Pakistan have announced their 16-member squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka. Experienced players like Umar Akmal and Ahmed Shehzad have been recalled into the T20 squad for this home series. All-rounder Faheem Ashraf has been included in the setup for the T20I series against Sri Lanka.

Imam-ul-Haq has been ruled out of the T20I series after sustaining a hand injury in the final one-day game of the series played on Wednesday. Ahmed Shehzad made his last appearance for Pakistan in a T20 game in Scotland. The 27-year old certainly made an impression with the bat in this year’s Pakistan Super League (PSL) and accumulated 311 runs at an average of 51.83.

On the other hand, Middle-order batsman Umar Akmal has been out of the national side for almost two years. His last appearance for Pakistan in the T20 format came in September 2016. The 29-year old also delivered credible performances in this year’s PSL.

All-rounder Faheem Ashraf has done well for Pakistan in the shortest format of the game. He can certainly well with the bat and ball. In this year’s PSL, he finished the competition with 21 wickets to his name. He will be keen to make an impact for Pakistan in this T20I series.

All the three T20I matches will be played at Gaddafi Cricket Stadium in Lahore. The games will be played on 5th, 7th and 9th October respectively.

Babar Azam has been standout performer for Pakistan in the T20 format. The right-handed batsman certainly scored heavily in the Vitality T20 Blast held in England. Azam will be keen to continue his rich vein of form in this three-match T20I series.

T20I Squad: Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain), Babar Azam (Vice-captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Umar Akmal, Usman Shinwari, Wahab Riaz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.