Australia announce 21-member squad for the tour of England

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) confirmed that England will host Australia in the month of September to play three T20Is and three ODIs. The series was initially scheduled to be played in July but due to rapid rise in coronavirus cases, both the cricket boards decided to postpone the tour.

With ECB successfully hosting West Indies and Pakistan, they decided to finalize the schedule for Australia to play the T20I and ODI series. Cricket Australia (CA) have confirmed that assistant coach Andrew McDonald will not tour England due to his coaching commitments for Rajasthan Royals for the upcoming Indian Premier League.

Aaron Finch and co. will commence the tour with three-match T20I series against England. All the matches will be played at The Rose Bowl in Southampton on 4th, 6th and 8th September respectively. Australia will not have to go through any quarantine period after arriving in the country.

ECB Chief Executive, Tom Harrison said that administrators, players and various stakeholders have made concerted efforts to make sure everything is in the right place for home series against Australia.

Australia is set to arrive in the UK on 24th August and will play two-warm up matches on 28th and 30th August at Southampton. Australia Head Coach Justin Langer appreciated the amount of hard work players have put in terms of fitness during the off-season. He said that the side will be looking to do well in order to build confidence for the coming World Cups.

Uncapped trio of Daniel Sams, Riley Meredith and Josh Phillipe have been named in the squad for the tour of England. Cricket Australia previously selected 26-member squad but the selectors decided to trim it down to 21 which means the likes of Usman Khuwaja, Travis Head, Ben McDermott, D’Arcy Short and Michael Nesser have been dropped from the side.

Australia squad for England tour: Aaron Finch (captain), David Warner, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Phillipe, Glenn Maxwell, Steven Smith, Mitchell Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Alex Carey, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Andrew Tye, Pat Cummins, Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Riley Meredith, Adam Zampa, Sean Abbott, Nathan Lyon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.