Australia announce squads for West Indies, Bangladesh tours

Australia have announced their T20I, ODI squads for the tours of West Indies and Bangladesh. Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Pat Cummins, David Warner and Marcus Stoinis have not been picked due to various seasons. Former Australian captain

Steven Smith is also unavailable as he is suffering from an elbow injury and will go rehabilitation process for the upcoming T20 World Cup to be played in the UAE in October,

Cricket Australia have named their 18-man squad with Wes Agar, Ben McDermott, Ashton Turner and Daniel Christian included for the tours of West Indies and Bangladesh. McDermott and Christian were participating in the T20 Blast competition and will join the national side to prepare for the tour of West Indies.

Alex Carey, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Swepson, Josh Hazlewood and Mitchell Starc make their comeback to the T20I and ODI squads for the tour of West Indies and Bangladesh. The five players missed the T20I series against New Zealand played earlier this year.

Pacer Wes Agar has earned his maiden call-up to the national side for the tours of West Indies and Bangladesh. Tanveer Sangha and Nathan Ellis have been named reserves by Cricket Australia.

Steven Smith will be looking to get fit in time for upcoming T20 World Cup followed Ashes against England in Australia. He was disappointed to miss the tour of Caribbean due to an elbow injury. National Selector Trevor Hohns said that the absence of premier players will allow young players to showcase their talent with bat and ball against West Indies.

Aaron Finch-led unit will leave on 28th June for the Caribbean. The visitors are scheduled to play five T20Is and three ODIs against West Indies, starting from 9th July.

Australia squad for tours of West Indies and Bangladesh: Aaron Finch (captain), Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Marsh, Ashton Agar, Adam Zampa, Moises Henriques, Matthew Wade, Wes Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Dan Christian, Riley Meredith, Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Andrew Tye, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Turner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.