Australia include uncapped trio of Daniel Sams, Josh Phillipe and Riley Meredith in 26-man preliminary squad

With a potential limited-overs series expected to take place in England in September, Cricket Australia named 26-member preliminary squad on 16th July (Thursday). The ODI squad consists of uncapped trio of Daniel Sams, Josh Phillipe and Riley Meredith.

All-rounder Glenn Maxwell, who was dropped from the side last year, has been included in the preliminary squad. Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb and Nathan Coulter-Nile have failed to find a place in the 26-member squad.

Opener Usman Khuwaja and middle-order batsman Travis Head have been surprise inclusion in the limited-overs squad. Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye and Jason Behrendorff have been named in the squad despite failing to attain central contract from Cricket Australia.

Cricket Australia Executive General Manager of National Teams, Ben Oliver, said, “We will try to work closely with England and Wales Cricket Board to find a possible window for the one-day series.” The 26-member squad will be expected to train and prepare adequately for a possible series in September.

Cricket Australia said that the health and safety of the players, coaches and support staff remains their biggest priority at the moment. National Selector Trevor Hohns said that rationale behind the 26-member squad is to ensure that the side can cover all the bases in case something goes wrong during the series.

This preliminary list will help the national side prepare adequately for the white-ball cricket in a bio-secure environment. The list includes plenty of players that have really excelled in the Big Bash League. The group of players has been selected in order to build strong for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup and 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup.

The final squad will be announced once the tour gets finalized.

Australia’s preliminary squad: Usman Khuwaja, Josh Phillipe, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, D’Arcy Short, Steven Smith, Andrew Tye, Pat Cummins, David Warner, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Michael Neser, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Matthew Wade, Marcus Stoinis, Daniel Sams, Riley Meredith, Alex Carey and Travis Head.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.