Australia name Will Pucovski, uncapped Cameron Green in the Test squad for India series.

Australia have announced their 17-member Test squad for the upcoming series against India starting from 17th December. Uncapped all-rounder Cameron Green has earned a maiden call-up to the Test side, while Will Pucovski makes a return to the setup after doing well for his state team in Sheffield Shield cricket this season.

Uncapped players like Sean Abbott, Michael Neser and Mitchell Swepson have been included in the Test squad for Border Gavaskar Trophy. Pacer Pat Cummins will act as deputy to captain Tim Paine for the upcoming four-match Test series.

In the ongoing Sheffield Shield competition this season, Will Pucovski has accumulated 495 runs at an average of 247.5. His stupendous performances as an opening batsman will give Australia an extra option besides the opening pair of David Warner and Joe Burns. It will interesting to see whether Joe Burns retains his place in the playing XI after string of low scores in the Sheffield Shield games played this year.

Joe Burns and Will Pucovski have been included in the Australia A side that will play two warm-up games against India. Trevor Hohns said that Pucovski has shown excellent temperament and technique to score big runs in red-ball cricket.

Western Australia all-rounder Cameron Green has made quite an impression with the bat in this year’s Sheffield Shield competition. He produced excellent numbers with the bat and also managed produce his best batting performance of 197 runs against New South Wales. After serious back injury, Cameron Green hasn’t bowled much but it hasn’t given him to focus on his batting. He has been named in the Test squad as genuine all-rounder who can provide crucial runs and wickets for Australia in red-ball cricket.

Earlier this month, Cameron Green was included in Australia’s T20I and ODI squad for home series against India. Leg-spinner Mitchell Swepson earned his maiden call-up after being the leading wicket-taker in the Sheffield Shield competition with 21 wickets to his name.

Uncapped pacers Sean Abbott and Michael Neser are other notable names included in the Test squad for the upcoming four-match series against India. Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, James Pattinson and Josh Hazlewood are four prominent pace options for Australia.

Australia A squad consists of nine players from the Test squad including skipper Tim Paine.

Australia squad: Tim Paine (captain & wicket-keeper), Pat Cummins (vice-captain), David Warner, Will Pucovski, Joe Burns, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Sean Abbott, Matthew Wade, James Pattinson, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Swepson, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser.

Australia A squad: Alex Carey (wk), Jackson Bird, Harry Conway, Nic Maddinson, Mark Steketee, Michael Neser, Joe Burns, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Will Sutherland, Mitchell Swepson, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh (subject to fitness),Tim Paine, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.