Australia pick Glenn Maxwell and four spinners in the test squad for tour of India

Australia has announced their test squad for the upcoming tour of India that will see them play four test matches starting from the month of February. The two sides will fight it out for Border-Gavaskar Trophy as the visitors are currently holders of the trophy after winning the series in Australia in 2014.

The 16-man squad will be led by Captain Steven Smith for the tour that will commence from 23rd February. The squad picked consists of four spinners in Nathan Lyon, Steve O’Keefe, Mitchell Swepson and Ashton Agar for the tour of subcontinent. Swepson has received his maiden call up due to his impressive performances in the domestic competition while Agar provides utility with the bat and ball down the order.

The visitors will face stern test against Ravi Ashwin and spin has been their major Achilles heel of late after losing all their previous on Asian soil in the last few years.Peter Handscomb and Glenn Maxwell will be key players and the ones who can negate the spin threat posed by Indian side.

Australia Test Squad for Tour of  India 2017: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Matthew Wade (wk), Jackson Bird, Mitchell Starc, Peter Handscomb, Matt Renshaw, Josh Hazlewood, Glenn Maxwell, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Swepson, Steve O’Keefe, Mitchell Marsh, Usman Khuwaja, Shaun Marsh, Nathan Lyon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.