Bangladesh announce 15-man squad for Sri Lanka series

Veteran pace bowler Mashrafe Mortaza will be available to lead Bangladesh for the upcoming tour to Sri Lanka that begins from 25th July. There were a lot of speculations that the 35-year old will quit the game after the conclusion of 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup.

Mortaza and co. will face an uphill task in the absence of key players Shakib Al Hasan and Liton Das, who will miss the one-day series due to personal reasons.

Shakib was the standout performer with the bat in the recently concluded ICC Cricket World Cup with over 600 runs to his name. His bowling was also exceptional and managed to pick wickets in the middle phase of the innings for Bangladesh in the competition. Without Shakib, it will be difficult for Bangladesh to find that right balance for the three-match one-day series against Sri Lanka.

Pace bowler Abu Jayed also was not picked for the three-match one-day series despite being included in the 15-man World Cup for England. Wicket-keeper Anamul Haque and off-spinner Taijul Islam made their comeback into the side for this one-day series.

Mohammad Saifuddin was a surprise package with the ball and proved to be a consistent performer for Bangladesh during the ICC Cricket World Cup played in England and Wales.

Bangladesh is scheduled to play three-match one-day series from 26th July. All the three games will be played at R.Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Bangladesh will depart for Sri Lanka on 20th July.

On the other hand, Sri Lanka has announced a preliminary squad that includes 22 players for the one-day series. Dimuth Karunaratne will lead the side for the three-match one-day series and he will also attend the meeting with Selection Committee with regards to final squad for the series.

ODI Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (Captain), Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Anamul Haque, Mehedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin and Taijul Islam.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *