Bangladesh announce 15-member squad for Asia Cup 2018

Bangladesh Cricket Board have announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming Asia Cup 2018 that will begin from next month. Shakib Al Hasan has been included in the setup despite having a finger injury.

Shakib sustained the injury during the one-day series against Sri Lanka played in January and was ruled out of the remaining games of that series. He played for Bangladesh in the historic Nidahas Trophy. He went to Australia for further examination on his finger and it was revealed he needed to operate to fully recover from the injury. Earlier this month, all-rounder played well for the side against West Indies but once again suffered an injury on the same finger. He will soon undergo surgery to recover from the injury.

Asia Cup 2018 will begin from 15th September in the United Arab Emirates. Bangladesh Cricket Board has recalled Ariful Haque and Mohammad Mithun for the competition. Anamul Haque, Abu Jayed, and Sabbir Rahman have been dropped.

Mohammad Mithun last played for the national side in January and will be keen to make an impression in the upcoming Asia Cup. The 27-year old has performed well for Bangladesh A and has earned his comeback into the side. He did tremendously well for Bangladesh A in a limited-over series against Ireland A. Ariful Haque has yet to play limited overs cricket for Bangladesh but has made his debut in the T20 format. He also played in the recent T20 series against West Indies.

Bangladesh is placed in the Group B in Asia Cup alongside Afghanistan and Sri Lanka. Mashrafe Mortaza and co. will play their opening game against Sri Lanka on 15th September.

Bangladesh’s Squad for Asia Cup 2018: Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Mahmudullah, Mehdi Hasan Miraz, Shakib Al Hasan, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das (wk), Nazmul Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Ariful Haque, Tamim Iqbal, Mosaddek Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *