Bangladesh announce Test squad for the series against West Indies.

Bangladesh have announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming Test series against West Indies. Pacer Mustafizur Rahman has been ruled out of the series after failing to regain full fitness. The left-arm quick has 26 wickets in 10 games. The pacer sustained a toe injury during the Indian Premier League 2018 while playing for Mumbai Indians.

Mustafizur Rahman has been an integral part of the side since making his debut in 2015. In recent times, he has been plagued with injuries that have kept him out of different tours. He has been decent with the ball during this period but will need to work on his fitness in order to play all formats of the game for Bangladesh.

Left-arm quick also missed the recent three-match T20 series against Afghanistan played in June. The side really missed his services as they lost all three games against Afghanistan in a series played in India. Bangladesh Chief Selector Minhajul Abedin said that Mustafizur has not fully recovered from the injury and will be unavailable for the series against Bangladesh. Uncapped pacer Abu Jayed has earned his call-up to the national side and will replace Mustafizur in Bangladesh’s Test squad.

The side has seen changes as they lost their home series against Sri Lanka. Captain Shakib Al Hasan will be desperate to turn things around for Bangladesh after missing home series against Sri Lanka due to injury.

The visitors will play two Tests, 3 ODIs and 3 T20s on the tour to the Caribbean. The series will begin from 4th July as the first test will be played at Antigua.

Bangladesh Test squad for West Indies series : Shakib Al Hasan (c), Liton Das (wk), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Nurul Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mominul Haque, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Kamrul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Imrul Kayes Abu Jayed, Nazmul Hossain and Shafiul Islam.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *