Bangladesh name 14-member squad for the T20 series against South Africa

Former Bangladesh T20 captain and premier bowler Mashrafe Mortaza decided to call it a day in the format. The side will be led by new-captain Shakib Al Hasan who will try his best to continue the good work done by Mortaza and help the side improve their game away from home. The Tigers will be keen to salvage some pride after getting hammered in the Test and ODI series against South Africa. Shakib will try his best to make sure the side can end their winless streak on the tour with a win in the T20 series.

Bangladesh Cricket Board has included Shafiul Islam and Rubel Hossain into the squad as pace options for the upcoming three-match T20 series against South Africa. Wicket-keeper batsman Liton Das also finds a place in the squad along with all-rounder Nasir Hossain who has been retained for the series. Sunzamul Islam, Nurul Islam and Subashis Roy have been dropped from the side after string of poor performances against Sri Lanka in the T20 series played earlier this year.

Shakib Al Hasan will lead the 14-man squad for the series in the absence of key players such as Mustafizur Rahman and Tamim Iqbal who have been sidelined due to injuries. Mustafizur twisted his ankle during a practice session and has returned home for further assessment while Tamim suffered from Thigh injury as Mominul Haque has been named as his replacement in the squad for the series.

Bangladesh has played only one T20 series against Sri Lanka this year. Shakib Al Hasan and Mahmudullah have been only players in the setup to play T20 cricket due to their participation in the Indian Premier League and then Caribbean Premier League. Shafiul Islam had a tremendous run in the last edition of Bangladesh Premier League and was among leading wicket takers of the competition.

Bangladesh T20 Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mominul Haque, Mehdi Hasan Miraaz, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Mohammad Saifuddin, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Liton Das, Nasir Hossain,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *