Bangladesh name T20 squad for the upcoming series against Afghanistan

Bangladesh have announced their 15-man squad for the forthcoming T20 series against Afghanistan to be played in India. The first game of the series will be played at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Dehradun. All-rounder Mosaddek Hossain makes a comeback into the T20 squad after being dropped from the side in 2017.

Imrul Kayes, Taskin Ahmed and Nurul Hasan have been dropped from the side due to poor run. The three players did play for Bangladesh in the Nidahas Trophy played in Sri Lanka.

Ariful Haque and Abu Jayed have retained their place in the squad despite not being able to play a single game for Bangladesh in the tri-nation competition played in Sri Lanka. Abu Hider, Mehedi Hasan Miraaz, and Soumya Sarkar also retained their place in the lineup after producing good performances for Bangladesh in the Nidahas Trophy played in Sri Lanka.

Bangladesh Chief Selector, Minhajul Abedin said that the squad selected is the best group of players that will be keen to put in a good show against Afghanistan in the T20 series. Few changes have been made as Mosaddek Hossain makes his way into the side after being available and fit for national selection.

Shakib Al Hasan is set to lead Bangladesh for the three-match T20I series with Mahmudullah Riyad acting as his deputy. Shakib has done well in the recently concluded Indian Premier League for Sunrisers Hyderabad.

The side has good players in Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman and Soumya Sarkar, who will be keen to put in good performances in the coming series against Afghanistan. All three games will be played at Dehradun on 3rd, 5th and 7th June respectively.

Bangladesh squad: Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mahmudullah (vice-captain), Mustafizur Rahman, Ariful Haque, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Abu Hider Rony, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Nazmul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Abu Jayed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.