BCCI announce 15-man squad for one-day series against New Zealand

BCCI have announced their 15-man squad for the forthcoming series against New Zealand. Hosts India will play three one day games followed by three-match T20 series. Virat Kohli and co. have to share the T20 series with Australia as the third game of the series was called off due to damp outfield with both the sides winning one game apiece.

KL Rahul is a shocking exclusion from the side since the youngsters has not played enough in the limited overs format for India. Mohammad Shami and Umesh Yadav also have been dropped from the side while Dinesh Karthik and Shardul Thakur have been selected for the home series against New Zealand. Virat Kohli will be the captain of the side for both the formats while Rohit Sharma will act as his deputy on the field. Opener Shikhar Dhawan will also feature for India in this upcoming tour after missing the Australian series due to personal reasons.

To surprise of many cricket pundits and fans, Manish Pandey and Kedar Jadhav have retained their place in the squad after not producing enough in the format for India. MS Dhoni has shown good in the format and is still the first choice wicket-keeper for the side against New Zealand. The spin troika in Aksar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav also are in the squad after performing well since being selected against Sri Lanka a few months back. Bhuvneshwar Kumar will take the new-ball duties with Jaspreet Bumrah for the coming series against New Zealand.

The first game of the three-match one-day series will be played in Mumbai on 22nd October.

India’s Squad for upcoming series against New Zealand: Virat Kohli (Capt. ), Rohit Sharma, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik Jaspreet Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya and Shardul Thakur.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *