Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer rested for South Africa ODIs

England have announced their ODI and T20I squads for the upcoming tour of South Africa. The visitors have also named their reserve players for their series in South Africa. England and Wales Cricket Board have announced their full-strength squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against South Africa. All-rounder Ben Stokes and pacer Jofra Archer have been named for the T20Is, while the duo has been rested for the three-match one-day series.

The selectors have announced their T20I and ODI squads for the upcoming series in South Africa. Pacer Jofra Archer, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan and Benn Stokes have been included in England’s T20 squad, whereas Joe Root, Olly Stone, Lewis Gregory, Liam Livingstone and Chris Woakes have been included in England’s limited-overs squad.

Despite playing a full season with Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League, wicket-keeper Jos Buttler has been named as first-choice keeper for England in both the squads.

Left-arm medium pacer Reece Topley makes a comeback to the limited-overs side after making his last one-day appearance for England in 2016. Bowling all-rounder David Willey, who showed impressive form with bat and ball against Ireland earlier this summer, has been ruled out of the tour due to injury.

Pacer Mark Wood has been included in ODI and T20I squads for the upcoming series in South Africa. Somerset batsman Tom Banton has been included as a reserve player for the limited-overs series against South Africa.

Olly Stone has fully recovered from injury and has been named in limited-overs squad for South Africa series. Jake Ball has not played for England since making his last international appearance in 2018. After having an excellent campaign in the Vitality T20 Blast, pacer Jake Ball finished with 19 wickets in 10 matches.

Middlesex quick Tom Helm has been named in the reserve players for the upcoming tour of South Africa. Kent batsman Joe Denly has been dropped from the squad after playing the three-match T20I series against Australia in September. Liam Livingstone has been included in limited-overs squad, while Sam Billings has been picked for the three-match T20I series.

The visitors will leave for South Africa on 16th November. Eoin Morgan-led unit will one 50-over intra-squad match and two T20I matches in order to prepare well for the upcoming series. The three-match T20I series will be played from 27th November. The remaining matches will be played on 29th November and 1st December. The culmination of T20I series will see South Africa and England lock horns in a three-match one-day series.

England’s T20I Squad for South Africa series: Eoin Morgan (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Jason Roy, Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Jofra Archer, Chris Jordan, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Jos Buttler, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood, Reece Topley.

England’s ODI Squad for South Africa series: Eoin Morgan(captain), Jos Buttler, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Liam Livingstone, Sam Billings, Olly Stone, Tom Curran, Lewis Gregory, Olly Stone, Reece Topley, Adil Rashid, Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Liam Livingstone, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Reserves players:Tom Banton, Tom Helm and Jake Ball.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *