Beuran Hendricks, Rassie van der Dussen get CSA central contracts, Dale Steyn misses out

Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced the list of players for men’s and women’s cricket team that will be given national contracts for the coming season. Left-arm seamer Beuran Hendricks earned his first national contract, while Rassie van der Dussen, Dwaine Pretorius and Anrich Nortje are notable inclusion in the list.`

Cricket South Africa Interim Chief Executive, Dr. Jacques Faul stated that they have contracted sixteen players for the coming cricketing season. The board has rewarded players that have come into the side in the past one year and done consistently well for the side across all three formats. CSA has opted to keep the one contract open and want to players to work hard to get the central contract.

Veteran pace bowler Dale Steyn has not been offered a central contract for the coming season. Last year, Steyn decided to retire from Test cricket in order to prolong his white-ball career.

On the other hand, Cricket South Africa have 14 women players for the 2020-2021 season. The cricket board stated that those players who have missed out on central contracts will be able to qualify for National Contract upgrade.

The national cricket team is set to play ICC T20 World Cup in Australia in October. South Africa will host Sri Lanka for a Test series, while they will travel to West Indies and Sri Lanka for full-fledged tours. South Africa is slated to play T20I series against Pakistan and India this year.

For women’s national side, Sinalo Jafta and Nadine de Klerk earned upgrades in their national contracts due to consistently good performances in white-ball cricket.

The contracts for women’s national cricket will cover ICC Women’s World Cup in New Zealand next year, in addition to England and West Indies tours. The postponed home series against Australia will be also covered in this period.

CSA contracted men’s players: Lungi Ngidi, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen.

CSA contracted women’s players: Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Lizelle Lee, Sune Luus, Tumi Sekhukhune, Trisha Chetty, Nadine de Klerk, Mignon du Preez, Shabnam Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Chloe Tryon, Dane van Niekerk, Laura Wolvaardt.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *