David Willey, Dawid Malan named in England’s T20 squad for Pakistan series

England have decided to go for youngsters for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Pakistan. Wicket-keeper batsman Jos Buttler, England Test Captain Joe Root, Sam Curran, Jofra Archer, Chris Woakes and Mark Wood have been rested for the T20I series. Left-arm pacer David Willey, who performed exceptionally well in the one-day series against Ireland, has made his return to the T20I squad. He last made his appearance for England in the T20 format in May 2019.

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) announced 14-member squad on Tuesday. The group of players picked was more of the same that played in the one-day series against Ireland. Eoin Morgan will lead the side for the three-match T20I series. Joe Denly, Dawid Malan, Sam Billings, Tom Banton are players that will be looking to make an impact with the bat for England.

On the bowling front, Chris Jordan, Moeen Ali, Saqib Mahmood, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson and Adil Rashid are named in the squad for three-match T20I series. Lewis Gregory, James Vince, Liam Livingstone and Moeen Ali are also included in the T20I setup of three-match series.

However, Pat Brown, Liam Livingstone and Reece Topley have included as reserve players for England for this three-match series. All-rounder Ben Stokes, who has traveled to New Zealand, will not take part in the series due to personal reasons.

In a jam-packed cricketing schedule, players who took part in the Test series this summer will be rested for the T20I series.

ECB confirmed coaching personnel for the three-match T20I series, which will be led by Graeme Thorpe. Paul Collingwood will as act as deputy to Graeme Thorpe. Marcus Trescothick has been named as batting coach and Jon Lewis as bowling coach for England for this T20I series.

All three T20I matches will be played at Old Trafford in Manchester. The opening game of the series will be played on 28th August

T20I Squad : Eoin Morgan (captain), Jonathan Bairstow, Jason Roy, Joe  Denly, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Lewis Gregory, Chris Jordan, Moeen Ali, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, David Willey.

Reserves: Reece Topley, Liam Livingstone, Pat Brown.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *