Dinesh Chandimal appointed Test Captain of Sri Lanka

Dinesh Chandimal is newly appointed Test Skipper for Sri Lanka while Upul Tharanga will lead islanders in the shorter formats. He will become 15th captain to lead Sri Lanka in the five-day cricket. Chandimal was handed over the duties after Angelo Matthews resigned from the captaincy from all the formats. The middle-order batsman is all set to lead Sri Lanka in the one-off test against Zimbabwe before India arrive in Sri Lanka for three-match test series.

Tharanga has been stand-in captain for Sri Lanka for quite a well now as Angelo Matthews has been on the sidelines due to injuries plaguing his career for past few years. Matthews also missed ICC Champions Trophy games. Sri Lanka will aim for better show against India to make sure they automatically qualify for the ICC World Cup 2019.

The likes of Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis, Upul Tharanga and Dimuth Karunaratne are included in the Test squad. Asela Gunaratne has been picked ahead of Dhananjaya de Silva for the one-off encounter. Vishwa Fernando and Dushmantha Chameera are also picked after injuries to the likes of Kusal Perera and Nuwan Pradeep.

Sri Lanka Test Squad:

Dinesh Chandimal (c), Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Vishwa Fernando, Dimuth Karunaratne, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Asela Gunaratne Suranga Lakmal, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.