England announce 17-member squad for the upcoming Ashes series in Australia

England have announced 17-man squad for the upcoming tour of Australia. All-rounder Ben Stokes is the notable absentee from the squad as he taken indefinite break from international cricket to take care of mental well-being.

Without Ben Stokes, England will face an uphill battle reclaiming the Ashes series down under. 2010/11 was the last time England won a Test series in Australia. He is set to miss his second consecutive tour of Australia at a time where he has excelling as a cricket in the entire format.

Dan Lawrence and Zak Crawley have been included in the Test squad for the Ashes series against Australia. Dom Bees will the second spinner after Jack Leach. Stuart Broad, who missed the three matches against India this summer. Broad has been named in the India’s Test squad after clearing fitness Test at Loughhborough.

Ten players in the England Test squad will be making their first trip to Australia for the Ashes series.  Vice-captain Jos Buttler was not selected for 2017-18 Ashes series played in Australia. All of the squad have played Test cricket for England this season. Head Coach Silverwood said that no uncapped players have been named in the England Test squad for Ashes series.

With Jofra Archer and Olly Stone ruled out due to injuries, England pace department lacks variety on docile pitches in Australia. Mark Wood is the only quick bowlers available for England for the Ashes series down under. With Sam Curran recently suffered a back injury, the worries for England have increased ahead of the Ashes series.

Rory Burns, Haseeb Hameed and Dawid Malan have been included in the Test squad. Jonny Bairstow has been included as reserve wicket-keeper for the five-match Test series. Chris Woakes, James Anderson, Mark Wood, Stuart Board, Craig Overton and Ollie Robinson are six pacers picked by England for the upcoming Ashes series to be played in Australia.

England Lions is scheduled to tour Australia besides national cricket team. The Lions squad will have plenty of players who will be keen to make an impression with the bat. England will two-warm up games before the opening Test at Brisbane, starts from 8th December.

England squad for the Ashes: Joe Root (c), Haseeb Hameed, Dawid Malan, Jos Buttler, Jonny Bairstow, Dan Lawrence, Rory Burns, Zak Crawley, Ollie Pope, Chris Woakes, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, James Anderson,  Craig Overton, Mark Wood, Ollie Robinson, Jack Leach.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.