England announce squad for the upcoming one-day series against Australia

England is currently placed at the top of the table in the ICC ODI Rankings. It has been a fabulous turnaround for a side that had a poor 2015 Cricket World Cup. They lost to Bangladesh in a must-win game and failed to make it to the quarterfinals of the competition. The side will be keen to do well in their home season, as they will compete against Australia in a five-match one-day series.

Hosts will then host India for a three-match one-day series followed by five-match Test series. Eoin Morgan will be keen to make sure England maintain their winning streak after back-to-back series victories in Australia and New Zealand in the limited-overs format. England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) named a 13-man squad for the upcoming one-day series against Australia. There are no changes in the squad that means selectors are sticking with the same group of players that will eventually play in the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

Eoin Morgan spoke to the media and stated that he expects a tough competition from Australia after the ball-tampering fiasco in South Africa. England Captain said that he will be fit and available for the series after suffering from a minor fracture on his finger in the game played against Somerset. Morgan stated that it was important for England to do well against teams like India and Australia in order to adequately prepare themselves for the upcoming Cricket World Cup that will be played next year.

Tom Curran was impressive in a couple of games played  in Australia and New Zealand. Liam Plunkett has been excellent for the side for past couple of years.

England squad for Australia series: Eoin Morgan (captain), Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jos Buttler (wk), Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Moeen Ali, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.