England announce Test, T20I squads for tour of New Zealand

England have announced their 15-man squad for the upcoming tour of New Zealand. The squad has been picked for the two-match Test series. Wicket-keeper batsman Jonny Bairstow has been dropped from the Test squad while four uncapped players have been picked for the New Zealand tour.

Dom Sibley and Zak Crawley have earned their maiden call-ups to the Test side for the series. Lancashire pace bowler Saqib Mahmood and Leg spinner Matt Parkinson have been included in the Test squad. Ollie Pope has earned a comeback into the national setup for this series.

Dom Sibley has produced outstanding numbers with the bat in English County Championship D Division one. He has accumulated 1324 runs at an average of 68.68. Sibley has smashed five centuries and five half-centuries this season. Besides Sibley, 21-year old Zak Crawley has delivered runs for his county side this season. He has scored 820 runs with two centuries to his name for Kent in this year’s Championship.

Lancashire duo of Saqib Mahmood and Matt Parkinson has claimed 21 and 19 wickets respectively in the Division Two of the English County Championship. The duo has been included on the credible performances they have delivered for Lancashire this season. Mahmood and Parkinson have picked for the T20 squad that is all set to begin from 1st November.

Veteran pacer James Anderson has not been picked for New Zealand tour. The 37-year old is undergoing rehabilitation process and will be looking to get fully fit for the tour of South Africa that will be played in December. Surrey batsman Jason Roy has been dropped from the Test side following his string of low scores in the Ashes series played against Australia at home.

Jos Buttler will be first-choice wicket-keeper for England for the two-match Test series to be played in New Zealand. Wicket-keeper Jonny Bairstow clearly has struggled in red-ball cricket and averaged less 25 in the recently concluded Ashes series. Since the beginning of 2017, Bairstow only scored three centuries in 56 innings. Despite his poor form in Test cricket, Bairstow has been named in the T20 squad.

Uncapped opener Tom Banton has topped the batting charts in this Vitality T20 Blast competition with 539 runs to his name. He has been included in the T20 squad. Saqib Mahmood, Sam Billings, Dawid Malan, James Vince and Matt Parkinson have been named in the setup. Pat Brown also performed exceedingly well with the ball for Worcestershire in the Vitality T20 Blast competition.

Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Joe Root, Chris Woakes, Jason Roy and Jofra Archer have been rested for the T20I series.

Test squad: Joe Root (captain),  Jofra Archer, Stuart Broad, Sam Curran, Joe Denly, Jack Leach, Saqib Mahmood Rory Burns, Jos Buttler (wk), Zak Crawley, , Matt Parkinson, Ollie Pope, Dominic Sibley, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes

T20I squad: Eoin Morgan (captain), Jonny Bairstow (wk), Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Denly, Lewis Gregory Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Pat Brown, Dawid Malan, Matt Parkinson, Adil Rashid, Chris Jordan, Saqib Mahmood James Vince

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *