Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade dropped from ODI Squad for the upcoming series against England

Wicket-keeper Matthew Wade and All-rounder Glenn Maxwell have been dropped from Australia’s ODI squad for the upcoming series against England. Australia’s Chief selector Trevor Hohns said that Maxwell has been axed due to inconsistent performances over the past one year. Wade also found no favors after poor-run of form this year.

Australia frontline pacers- Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood are in the squad for the one-day series. T20 Superstar Chris Lynn has earned his recall to the national side after a string of good performances in the domestic competition. Hohns stated that selection committee wanted to give Lynn an extended run to find out whether he can produce greater consistency in terms of runs-scoring than Maxwell for Australia.

Hohns clarified that Maxwell has match-winning abilities and has won games in the past for Australia but the side needs more consistency from him in the one-day format. Glenn Maxwell has endured a poor run in the last 20 games as Australia needs someone to produce more runs in that middle order. Chris Lynn is currently in the form of his life and has been the most destructive player in the Australian domestic cricket setup.

Tim Paine also makes his return to the one-day side replacing Wade in the squad for the series. The Victorian has done exceedingly with the gloves in the ongoing Ashes series and will be great chance for him to cement his place in the lineup. Trevor Hohns stated that Wade needed to work on his keeping and improve his batting that has seen a sharp decline in the last couple of months.

Andrew Tye and Jhye Richardson have been included in the squad for their good performances at the domestic level. The World Champions have not been that great in the 50-over format after failing to qualify for knockout stages of Champions Trophy and losing one-day series in India. Hohns said that it is an exciting opportunity for all the players to put their hand and produce good performances to seal their spots in the lineup and be a part of plans for Cricket World Cup 2019 that will be held in England.

Australia’s ODI Squad: Steve Smith (captain), Tim Paine, Jhye Richardson, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa, Chris Lynn, Mitchell Marsh, David Warner, Patrick Cummins Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *