Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav dropped as India announce squad for WTC Final, England Tests

Kuldeep Yadav, Prithvi Shaw and Hardik Pandya have been dropped from the Test squad for the upcoming tour of England and World Test Championship. Since suffering from a back injury two years ago, Hardik Pandya workload as bowlers has been managed by team management.

In this year’s Indian Premier League, he suffered a shoulder niggle and didn’t bowl much for Mumbai Indians in the seven matches played. 2018 was the last time Hardik Pandya made his Test appearance for India.

After recovering from injury sustained during India’s tour of Australia last year, Ravindra Jadeja showcased excellent form with bat and ball in the recently postponed Indian Premier League. His replacement, Axar Patel, has been retained as third spinner for the tour of England after doing well in the home series for India.

After suffering from hamstring tear in the draw Sydney Test, middle-order Hanuma Vihari has made a strong comeback for India for the upcoming World Test Championship and five-match Test series against England.

Mayank Agarwal, Shubnam Gill and Rohit Sharma are prominent opening options for India for the upcoming trip to the UK. After not doing well in the day-night Test played at Adelaide, Prithvi Shaw has failed to retain his place in the squad.

After being dropped, Prithvi Shaw worked hard on his technical shortcomings and performed exceedingly well for Mumbai in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. He was instrumental in helping Mumbai win the coveted domestic trophy this year.

Shaw continued his rich vein of form for Delhi Capitals in the Indian Premier League. Despite impressive performances in the past few months, Lokesh Rahul was picked ahead of Prithvi Shaw for the upcoming World Test Championship and series against England.

Left-arm Chinaman Kuldeep Yadav was once considered premier spinner for India in all three formats. He sat on the sidelines for the entire off Australia and had played just one game against England.

In the pace bowling department, Mohammad Shami makes his return to the Test squad after missing home series against England after fracturing his arm against Australia in the day-night Adelaide Test.

He completes the six-man pace battery which includes Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur.

After playing the World Test Championship against New Zealand at Southampton, the Men in Blue will travel to Nottingham for the opening game of the five-match Test series. The game will be start from 4th August. The second Test at Lords will be played from 12th August, while the last three games will be played at Leeds, The Oval and Manchester.

India’s Test Squad for WTC and England series: Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Mayank Agarwal, Rishabh Pant (wk), Jasprit Bumrah, Hanuma Vihari, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Shubnam Gill, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Mohammed Siraj, Lokesh Rahul and Wriddhiman Saha (subject to fitness clearance).

Reserve players: Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *