Iftikhar Ahmed out, Fawad Alam in as Pakistan announce Test squad for Sri Lanka series

Middle-order batsman Fawad Alam has made his comeback to the side as PCB announced 16-man squad for the two-match series against Sri Lanka. Alam, who has been a prolific run-scorer at the domestic level, will be looking to make an impression in this series. His last Test appearance came against New Zealand in November 2019.

The left-hander has shown excellent form with the bat in the domestic season and smashed four hundreds to his name. Pakistan’s Head Coach, Misbah-ul-Haq, said that Fawad Alam richly deserves his selection to the national side. He stated that Alam has delivered consistent runs for his domestic side this season.

On the other hand, Left-arm quick Usman Shinwari has earned his maiden call-up to the Test side. Shinwari has played 16 T20 games and 17 one-day internationals for Pakistan. Pacer Shinwari has claimed 90 wickets in first-class cricket and is averaging 24.00 with the ball in hand.

Iftikhar Ahmed, who struggled during the Australia Test series, failed to find a spot in the squad while Fawad Alam has earned a recall to the side after 10 years.

All-rounder Iftikhar Ahmed has been dropped from the side after he failed to score any runs in the two-match series played in Australia. Rookie pacer Muhammad Musa Khan has been dropped after he made his debut for Pakistan in the Adelaide Test. The young pacer finished with figures of 0 for 114 in his debut game against Australia.

Pace bowler Naseem Shah made his Test debut against Australia at The Gabba in Brisbane. Shah has been named in the Pakistan’s squad for U-19 World Cup to be played in South Africa in the month of January and February next year.

The opening game of the two-match series will be played at Rawalpindi from 11th December. The second and final game of the series will be played in Karachi from 19th December. The series is a historic one as it marks the return of Test cricket to Pakistan. Sri Lanka was the last time to play a Test series in Pakistan in 2009.

Test squad for two-match series : Azhar Ali (captain), Imam-ul-Haq, Imran Khan, Kashif Bhatti, Abid Ali, Asad Shafiq, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Babar Azam, Fawad Alam, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Shan Masood, Yasir Shah, Usman Shinwari

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *