India announce 15-member squad for World Test Championship final

India have named their 15-man squad for the upcoming World Test Championship final against New Zealand at The Ageas Bowl in Southampton. The Men in Blue have questioned the strict bio-bubble protocols for the World Test Championship at The Ageas bowl.

Indian team has called for compliance of bio-bubble protocols for both the teams before the World Test Championship finals at Ageas Bowl. The Indian players were largely restricted to their hotel rooms. On the other hand, six members of New Zealand cricket decided to play golf located near the hotel.

Pacer Shardul Thakur, wicket-keeper Lokesh Rahul and opener Mayank Agarwal have failed to find a place in the India’s Test squad for WTC final against New Zealand. Mayank Agarwal showed decent form with the bat for India in home conditions. His lack of runs in overseas conditions was main reason for selectors going for Shubnam Gill, who showed excellent form for India on their tour of Australia last year.

Shardul Thakur was one of the players who delivered a crucial innings to keep India in the Test match against Australia at Brisbane. The other players like Avesh Khan, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Arzan Nagwaswalla and Shardul Thakur have been released from the squad and will stay with the national side till WTC final is concluded.

Virat Kohli will lead the side for the inaugural World Test Championship against New Zealand. The squad looks quite strong on paper as Hanuma Vihari, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami make their return after missing the home Test series against England due to injuries.

The Men in Blue will certainly start as favorites to win the World Test Championship that will begin from 18th June at Southampton.

India’s 15-member squad for the WTC Final: Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara,  Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Siraj Jasprit Bumrah, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha, Umesh Yadav


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.