India include Dinesh Karthik, Lokesh Rahul and Ravendra Jadeja in the World Cup squad

India have named their 15-man squad for 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup that will commence from 30th May in England. Opening batsman Lokesh Rahul, wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik and all-rounder Ravendra Jadeja have been included in the squad for the World Cup that will be played in England.

Chief selector MSK Prasad said that Dinesh Karthik has been picked ahead of Rishabh Pant due to his vast amount of experience of playing at the international circuit. Karthik certainly deserved his selection as he has been consistent performer for the side in the past couple of years.

Ambati Rayudu suffered from a lean run in the limited-overs format and registered a string of low scores against New Zealand and Australia.

Ambati Rayudu and Rishabh Pant have discarded from the ODI squad, while Hardik Pandya returned after recovering from injury. He was once considered as a player who could become a consistent performer in the middle-order. Due to his poor form, selectors decided to go for players like Lokesh Rahul for the Cricket World Cup.

India will play their opening game of 2019 Cricket World Cup against South Africa at The Rose Bowl, Southampton on 1st June.

All-rounder Ravendra Jadeja has been included in the World Cup squad as he can provide value with the bat and ball. MSK Prasad said that Jadeja could certainly be a proven to be a match-winner if India gets to play on slow turning pitches in the later stages of the competition.

The notable absentee from the squad has been wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant, who failed to make impression with the bat during the one-day series played against Australia at home. Pant has shown good form for Delhi Capitals in the ongoing Indian Premier League and scored 245 runs at a strike rate of 161.18.

Hardik Pandya, Vijay Shankar and Ravendra Jadeja are three genuine all-rounders picked by selectors for this year’s Cricket World Cup. Jaspreet Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammad Shami are three front-line pace options for the India for the competition.

Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal and left-arm Chinaman Kuldeep Yadav are prominent spin options included in the squad.

India’s squad for 2019 Cricket World Cup: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Dinesh Karthik, Lokesh Rahul, Ravendra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaspreet Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, Vijay Shankar.

India’s 2019 Cricket World Cup fixtures:

Warm-up game- India vs New Zealand, The Oval- 25th May

Warm-up game- India vs Bangladesh, Cardiff – 28th May

1st game- India vs South Africa, Southampton- 1st June

2nd game – India vs Australia, The Oval, 9th June

3rd game – India vs New Zealand, Trent Bridge, 13th June

4th game- India vs Pakistan, Old Trafford, 16th June

5th game – India vs Afghanistan, Southampton- 22th June

6th game – India vs West Indies, Old Trafford, 27th June

7th game – India vs England, Edgbaston- 30th June

8th game – India vs Bangladesh, Edgbaston, 2nd July

9th game – India vs Sri Lanka, Headingley, 6th July

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.