India name 16-man squad for T20 series against South Africa

BCCI have named the 16-man squad for the upcoming T20I series against South Africa. Virat Kohli will lead the side for the series while Suresh Raina makes a return to the side. Rohit Sharma will act as a deputy to Virat Kohli. Raina last played for India against England in T20 series in 2017.

Raina has been in splendid form and scored heavily for Uttar Pradesh in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The left-handed batsman has scored 314 runs at a mind-boggling strike rate of 146. Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, and Virat Kohli are three premier batsmen for India in the format while Dinesh Karthik, Suresh Raina, and Manish Pandey will fight it out for a place in the middle order. Dinesh Karthik and Manish Pandey have not done enough with the bat in the format as India would aim to find a player for middle-order woes that has plaguing the side’s performance in the last one year. Suresh Raina will be keen to cement his place in the lineup despite being out favor among the selectors. The left-handed batsman has the experience to bring stability to the middle order and is proven match-winner for India in the format.

Hardik Pandya, Aksar Patel, and MS Dhoni will form strong lower-order for India in the T20 series against South Africa. Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal are two premier spinners in the side for India. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaspreet Bumrah, Shardul Thakur and Jaydev Unadkat will be pace options for the side. The three-match T20 series will be played after the conclusion of six-game one-day series.

India’s Squad: Virat Kohli (captain ), Dinesh Karthik, Aksar Patel, Rohit Sharma (vice-captain ), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaspreet Bumrah, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Manish Pandey, Jaydev Unadkat, Shardul Thakur.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *