Liam Livingstone called up as England announce T20I squad for India series

England have announced their 16-member squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against India. Wicket-keeper Jos Buttler has flown back to England after playing first Test of the series against India, while Alex Hales and Joe Root once again have been overlooked by the selectors for the T20I format.

Middle-order batsman Liam Livingstone has made his comeback to the national side. He was named in the limited-overs squad for the previous series in South Africa. After delivering spectacular performances for Perth Scorchers in the recently concluded Big Bash League, Livingstone has made return to the T20I side after a period of four years. His last appearance for England in a T20I game came in June 2017.

National Selector, Ed Smith, said that Joe Root will lead the Test side for almost 21 matches this year. Given the hectic schedule and leadership responsibility, Root has been asked to concentrate on his goals for England in red-ball cricket.

England have included Matt Parkinson and Jake Ball as reserve players in case if any player gets injured or sick during the course of the five-match T20I series.

Last year, England complete a 3-0 whitewash over South Africa in the T20I series played in South Africa. Captain Eoin Morgan clearly stated that in August that the selectors will have to make decisions and select the strongest possible squad for the upcoming T20I series.

Eoin Morgan-led unit will take on England in a five-match T20I series in the month of March. All the five matches will be played at new Sardar Patel Stadium in Ahmedabad on 12th, 14th, 16th, 18th and 20th March respectively.

The conclusion of the T20I series will see England lock horns with India in a three-match ODI series that will be played at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune. The limited-overs squad is expected to be announced after the conclusion of the third Test.

The 16-member squad will depart for India on 26th February, while the opening game of the series will be played on 12th March.

England T20I Squad for India series : Eoin Morgan (captain), Jason Roy, Jos  Buttler, Ben Stokes, Jonathan Bairstow, Sam Billings, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Adil Rashid, Chris Jordan, Reece Topley, Jofra Archer, Mark Wood.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.