Lokesh Rahul named interim captain for ODI series against South Africa

BCCI have announced their 18-member squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against South Africa. Opener Rohit Sharma has been ruled out of the ODI series against South Africa. The selection committee made a formal announcement on 31st December.

Rohit Sharma is currently going through a rehabilitation process after suffering from hamstring injury just before the start of the South Africa series. Pacer Jasprit Bumrah has been named vice-captain of the side for this ODI series.

BCCI Chief Selector, Chetan Sharma said that we see Rahul as a player who will represent India in all three formats. He has proven leadership qualities. With Rohit being ruled out of the tour, we have named Lokesh Rahul as interim captain for this ODI series.

Experienced spinner Ravichandran Ashwin makes comeback to the national side after almost four years. He made his last appearance for India in the ICC Champions Trophy final against Pakistan at The Oval. In 111 ODIs, Ashwin has claimed 150 wickets. With his experience, he will bring a lot of stability and value to the spin bowling department.

The selection committee has also included players that have done well in the recently concluded Vijay Hazare Trophy. The likes of Washington Sundar, Venkatesh Iyer and Ruturaj Gaekwad are players named in the ODI squad.

Lokesh Rahul, Ishan Kishan and Rishabh Pant are three wicket-keeping options for India for this three-match ODI series.

Pacer Mohammed Shami will be rested in order to manage his workload while all-rounders Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel were unavailable due to injuries.

India squad for ODI series against South Africa: Lokesh Rahul (captain), Jasprit Bumrah (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravichandran Ashwin, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan, Yuzvendra Chahal, Prasidh Krishna, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.