Mohammad Hafeez included in Pakistan T20 squad for the series against Sri Lanka

Mohammad Hafeez has been included in the Pakistan T20 squad for the forthcoming three-match T20 series against Sri Lanka. The rest of players in the squad are the same that were selected for the series against ICC World XI. Hafeez did last play for Pakistan in the T20 series in West Indies. Sohail Khan has also been added as additional pace options as Mohammad Amir is expected to be with his wife as he is expecting fatherhood. The left-arm quick will only play if required in the series.

Amir sustained a leg injury that ruled him out of the one-day series and is in the squad for the series. He will undergo a fitness test to be available for the T20 series. Hafeez also made his return to the squad after not being a permanent fixture of the side for past one year.

The first game of the series will be played at Abu Dhabi on 26th October and second one will be also staged at same venue on 27th October. Some of the players in the Sri Lankan squad express their concerns over touring Pakistan for the third and final T20 game to be played in Lahore. Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) did assure Sri Lankan Cricket Board to provide full-proof security to the visiting side for the game that will be played on 29th October at Lahore.

Thisara Perera will led Sri Lanka for the T20 series after security teams expressed complete satisfaction over the arrangements made by PCB for the game to be played at Lahore. The third and final game of the series will now be played after a green signal from Sri Lankan Cricket Board.

Pakistan Squad for T20 series: Sarfraz Ahmed (c & wk), Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Shadab Khan, Aamer Yamin, Rumman Raees, Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Hafeez, Usman Shinwari, Umar Amin, Mohammad Aamer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.