New Zealand announce 15-member squad for 2019 Cricket World-Cup

New Zealand have announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming Cricket World Cup that starts from 30th May in England.

Uncapped wicket-keeper Tom Blundell is certainly a surprise inclusion in the New Zealand squad for the Cricket World Cup. Blundell has come in as a replacement for Tim Seifert, who has been ruled out due to a finger injury. Seifert made quite an impression with the bat in the T20I series played against India in February.

All-rounder Colin de Grandhomme has managed to retain his place in the squad despite tough competition from Doug Bracewell. James Neesham is the second all-rounder included in the one-day setup despite making limited appearances for New Zealand in one-day format.

New Zealand have selected leg-spinner Ish Sodhi and left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner for the upcoming mega event. Selectors believe that the spinners will play a big role in this year’s World Cup.

Uncapped Tom Blundell has been included in New Zealand’s squad for 2019 Cricket World Cup that starts from 30th May

The pitches in England will certainly suit the spinners in the back end of the competition. New Zealand will be hoping that Sodhi and Santner can form a lethal partnership with the ball in the upcoming Cricket World Cup.

Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson and Matt Henry are pace options selected by New Zealand for 2019 Cricket World Cup.

In the batting department, Colin Munro has retained his place in the World Cup squad despite string of low scores against India in the one-day series played earlier this year.

The side preparations will go underway in April with a two-day training camp in Christchurch before they go to Australia to play unofficial three-match one-day series.

Many of premier players like Kane Williamson, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson and  Colin de Grandhomme are currently playing for their respective franchises in the 2019 Indian Premier League.

New Zealand World Cup Squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tom Blundell (wk), Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.