New Zealand announce ODI, T20 squads for the forthcoming series against India

New Zealand have announced their ODI and T20 squads for the upcoming series against India. Uncapped players like batsman Glenn Phillips and leg-spinner Todd Astle have been added in the setup for the series.

Glenn Phillips, George Worker, Todd Astle, Henry Nicholls, Colin Munro and Matt Henry were part of New Zealand A side that are playing against India A in India. The players will join the squad after conclusion of that tour. Tom Bruce and leg-spinner Ish Sodhi are in the T20 squad for the series against India. Ross Taylor and George Worker will only take part in the limited overs series before returning home to New Zealand.

New Zealand A side manager and selector Gavin Larsen said that Glenn Phillips and Todd Astle have shown tremendous over a period of time and richly deserve their maiden call-ups for the national side. Larsen said that they also did exceedingly well for A side that currently playing in India. Todd Astle did well in the domestic season for his franchise and is a genuine all-rounder that brings value to New Zealand with bat and ball.

Larsen said that Glenn Phillips is a terrific find for New Zealand cricket as youngsters has made impact since making his debut at the domestic level. Phillips inclusion in the New Zealand setup was evident as the batsman scored a splendid unbeaten 140 runs against India-A side. Glenn Phillips is also a wicket-keeper and will carry out his duties for New Zealand in the ODI and T20 format. The youngsters also played for Jamaica Tallawahs in the recently concluded Caribbean Premier League. Phillips scored 176 runs in the competition with highest score of 51 from seven games played.

Ross Taylor also was overlooked as he yet to make his return to the T20 squad. Ish Sodhi has been in terrific form after producing good performances in the County Championship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *