Pacer Fidel Edwards, uncapped Kevin Sinclair named in West Indies squad for Sri Lanka series

Veteran pacer Fidel Edwards has been included in the West Indies T20I squad for the upcoming three-match series against Sri Lanka. West Indies have announced their 14-member squad for the series. Chris Gayle, Lendl Simmons and Dwayne Bravo make their return to the squad, while Akeal Hosein and Kevin Sinclair receive maiden call-ups for the T20 series.

2012 was the last time Fidel Edwards played a T20I game for West Indies. The inclusion of Fidel Edwards will bolster the bowling resources for West Indies for this three-match series.

West Indies T20I squad: Kieron Pollard (captain), Lendl Simmons, Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Jason Holder, Nicholas Pooran, Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Fletcher, Akeal Hosein, Obed McCoy, Rovman Powell, Fidel Edwards, Kevin Sinclair.

All-rounder Jason Holder has shown consistency with the bat and ball in all formats and makes his return to the T20 setup. Uncapped spinner Akeal Hosein was the standout bowler for West Indies in the previous one-day series against Bangladesh. In the Super50 competition, off-spinner Kevin Sinclair has done exceedingly well for his domestic side and has named in T20I and ODI squads for Sri Lanka series.

Premier all-rounder Andre Russell has fully recovered from covid-19 but will take some time to get back to the cricket field. After failing to pass fitness Tests, Shimron Hetymer, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetymer, Roston Chase and Oshane Thomas were not picked for the home series against Sri Lanka.

Nicholas Pooran, Lendl Simmons, Kieron Pollard and Evin Lewis make their comeback after missing the previous tour of Bangladesh due to covid-19 concerns. The home side will be looking to prepare well and build nice momentum towards the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup to be played in India in September this year.

Kyle Mayers, who was instrumental in helping West Indies seal a historic whitewash over Bangladesh in Bangladesh, has been named in limited-overs side along with Jason Mohammed and Romario Shepherd. The three-match T20I series will be played on 3rd, 5th and 7th March in Antigua, while three-match ODI series will be commence from 10th March. The two sides will conclude the tour with a two-match Test series that will begin from 21st March.

West Indies’ ODI squad for Sri Lanka series : Kieron Pollard (captain), Evin Lewis, Nicholas Pooran, Shai Hope, Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Romario Shepherd, Akeal Hosein, Kyle Mayers, Jason Mohammed, Kevin Sinclair.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.