Pacer Reece Topley named in England’s ODI squad for Ireland series

Left-arm medium pacer Reece Topley has made his comeback into the England’s limited-overs squad after a period of four years. He will be looking to make an impression in the upcoming one-day series against Ireland. Apart from Topley, selectors have also picked up the likes of David Willey and Sam Billings for the one-day series.

In the reserve players, the selection committee picked uncapped trio of Liam Livingstone, Lewis Gregory and Richard Gleeson for the one-day series.

The home side have rested premier players like Joe Root, Jos Buttler, Chris Woakes, Ben Stokes , Mark Wood and Jofra Archer for one-day series against Ireland. The players participated in the back-to-back Test matches played against West Indies at Manchester.

The ODI squad was announced on Monday on 27th July as Eoin Morgan will lead the side for the three-match series.

Off-spinner Moeen Ali and opening batsman Jonny Bairstow will make their return to white-ball cricket for England. The duo was not picked for the three-match Test series against West Indies. James Vince and Joe Denly have been named in the 14-man squad for series against Ireland.

England selector, James Taylor, said that the selection committee aims to be increase bench strength in white-ball cricket. The home side will be looking to start their series on a winning note against Ireland. With the selection of new players, the selectors are trying to build a pool of players for 2021 T20 World Cup.

In this tough scenario, England and Wales Cricket Board has appreciated the work of the county coaches and various staff to help players make adequate preparation for the competitive cricketing season.

All the matches of the one-day series will be played at The Rose Bowl in Southampton. The one-day series will be slated to begin from 30th July.

England ODI Squad: Eoin Morgan (Captain), Moeen Ali, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Joe Denly Jonny Bairstow, Reece Topley, James Vince, David Willey, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Saqib Mahmood, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy,

Reserve Players: Liam Livingstone, Richard Gleeson, Lewis Gregory.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *