Pakistan announce 15-man squad for New Zealand series

Pakistan have named their 15-man squad for the upcoming three-match one-day series against New Zealand. All-rounder Mohammad Hafeez is included in the squad due to series of good performances against New Zealand in the T20I series. Hafeez was overlooked for the 2018 Asia Cup played in UAE.

Left-arm spinner Imad Wasim has failed to regain his place in the one-day side despite regaining full fitness this year. Pace bowler Mohammad Amir has been dropped from the squad due to poor form with the ball so far this year. Left-arm quick failed to take wickets with the new-ball and looked a jaded figure in the recent Asia Cup played in UAE.

Hafeez has been in splendid form since his return to Pakistan side. He smashed a century in the opening Test against Australia. He also produced crucial contributions for Pakistan in three-match T20 series played against Australia.

Imad was overlooked for the Asia Cup due to his fitness issues. He produced memorable performances on his return to the side in the T20 format. Left-arm spinner produced splendid performances with the ball against Australia and New Zealand in the six T20I games played in the UAE. He certainly will be keen to form a lethal combination with Shadab Khan for Pakistan in limited-overs cricket.

Shan Masood and Sahibzada Farhan has been dropped from the one-day squad for New Zealand series. Farhan’s exclusion certainly comes as a shock as he hardly played a single game for Pakistan and never got a full opportunity to prove his worth at the top of the innings.

Hosts Pakistan will take on New Zealand in the opening game of the three-match one-day series at Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium on Wednesday.

Pakistan’s ODI squad for New Zealand series: Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Usman Shinwari

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *