Pakistan announce their 15-man squad for the one day series in Australia

Pakistan Cricket Board has announced 15-member squad for the upcoming bilateral one day series in Australia. The selection committee has not picked experienced players like Mohammad Hafeez and Kamran Akmal for the tour despite their good performances in the domestic circuit. The committee has favored test batsman Asad Shafiq who will finally have a chance to showcase his skills in the short format despite being dropped from the side.

Chairman of selectors Inzamam-ul-Haq stated that the side picked for the tour is good blend between experienced players coupled with exuberance of emerging ones. The one day did well against West Indies to complete a 3-0 clean sweep in UAE under the captaincy of Azhar Ali. Left arm fast bowler Mohammad Irfan also makes his return into the side after suffering from fitness issues on the last one day tour in England.

The first game of the one day series will be played at Brisbane on 13th January while Melbourne, Sydney, Perth and Adelaide are chosen as other venues for the remaining four games of the series.

Pakistan One Day Squad for Australia: Azhar Ali (captain),Shoaib Malik, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Umar Akmal, Sharjeel Khan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Hasan Ali, Rahat Ali,Umar Akmal, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Rizwan and Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.