Pakistan announce 16-man squad for T20 series against ICC World XI

Pakistan Cricket Board has announced 16-man squad for three-match T20 series to be played in Pakistan against World XI. Faf du Plessis will lead the World XI side for the series that will be played in the month of September in Lahore.

Pace bowler Sohail Khan makes a comeback into the side after showing good form and fitness at the domestic level. Chief Selector Inzamam-ul-Haq stated that the team has been selected considering the conditions in which the side will play.He add the player selected were pick due to their recent performances for Pakista . He said it will be great for these players to perform for the first time in front of home crowds after playing most of their home games in UAE for the last six years.

International Cricket Council made concerted efforts with regards to bringing cricket back to Pakistan. Due to a terrorist attack on Sri Lankan cricket team in 2009 in Lahore, the side has faced cricket isolation till now as no team has yet to tour the country till now . Hopefully, this tour will serve a harbinger of hope as sides like Sri Lanka and West Indies are rumored to tour Pakistan in the following months.

Pakistan Squad for series against World XI:

Sarfaraz Ahmed (c & wk), Mohammad Aamer, Rumman Raees, Shoaib Malik, Umer Amin, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam,  Hassan Ali, Amir Yamin, Usman Shinwari, Sohail Khan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.