Pakistan announce T20, ODI Squads for Zimbabwe tour

All-rounder Mohammad Hafeez has been included in the Pakistan squad for Zimbabwe tri-series. The 37-year old has earned a recall into the side after being cleared to bowl by International Cricket Council (ICC). Hafeez played his last game for Pakistan in New Zealand in January. Pakistan will first take part in tri-series featuring Zimbabwe and Australia. The conclusion of tri-series will see Pakistan play Zimbabwe in a five-match one-day series.

Hafeez will definitely bring a lot of experience to the squad as he has played 200 ODIs and 81 T20Is for Pakistan since making his debut in 2003. Mohammad Amir has been included in the squad despite giving a request to be rested for the coming Zimbabwe tour. Surprisingly, Ahmed Shehzad has been dropped after he failed a dope test. The opener was selected for two-match series against Scotland after the conclusion of England series.

All-rounder Imad Wasim failed to clear the fitness test in Lahore and was overlooked for the tour. Pakistan’s premier batsman Babar Azam also is sidelined due to a fractured arm. He is currently undergoing a rehabilitation process and will be fit for series against Australia to be played in UAE.

Pacer Junaid Khan and leg-spinner Yasir Shah has been included in Pakistan’s limited-overs squad after clearing fitness test at Lahore. Shah suffered from a hip injury and missed the series against England. He will be looking forward to playing alongside Shadab Khan in the forthcoming one-day series against Zimbabwe.

Sahibzada Farhan is the only uncapped player picked for the Tri-series that will begin from 1st July.

 T20 squad for Zimbabwe Tri-series 2018: Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain & wk), Shadab Khan, Shoaib Malik, Sahibzada Farhan, Fakhar Zaman, Asif Ali, Hussain Talat, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Shinwari, Haris Sohail, Hasan Ali.

ODI squad for Zimbabwe series: Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain & wk), Mohammad Hafeez, Fakhar Zaman, Yasir Shah, Usman Khan Shinwari, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Amir,  Shoaib Malik, Junaid Khan, Hassan Ali, Asif Ali, Haris Sohail, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Aamer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *