Pakistan announce T20I, Test squads for tour of Australia

Pakistan have announced their T20I and Test squads for tour of Australia. Uncapped pace duo of Musa Khan and Naseem Shah has been named in the Test squad. The visitors will be looking to play different brand of cricket under the newly appointed Test captain Azhar Ali.

The other uncapped players included are opening batsman Abid Ali and left-arm orthodox spinner Kashif Bhatti for the two-match Test series. Middle-order batsman Iftikhar Ahmed has made his comeback into the Test squad after three years. Right-arm seamer Imran Khan has made his comeback into the Test squad for Australia series.

Pacer Hasan Ali has been ruled out of the Australian tour due to a back injury. The pace department lacks experience as Mohammad Abbas will lead the attack for this Test series. Left-arm quick bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi will lead the pace attack for this series.

Sarfaraz Ahmed has been dropped from T20I and Test squads for tour to Australia. Wicket-keeper batsman Sarfaraz Ahmed was unceremoniously removed from captaincy duties following his poor form with the bat this season.

In the batting department, Uncapped Abid Ali has replaced Fakhar Zaman in the Test squad for Australia series. Zaman failed to make an impact with the bat in the three-match Test series played in South Africa earlier this year. Wicket-keeper Muhammad Rizwan will be first-choice keeper for the side for this series.

Pakistan is going to kick-start their tour with a three-match T20I series. The side will then play a two-match Test series to conclude the tour.

Test squad: Azhar Ali (captain), Abid Ali, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Imran Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Kashif Bhatti, Musa Khan, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Yasir Shah

T20I squad: Babar Azam (captain), Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Musa Khan, Shadab Khan, Usman Qadir, Wahab Riaz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.