Ravi Rampaul, Roston Chase named in West Indies squad for 2021 ICC T20 World Cup

Veteran pacer Ravi Rampaul has made a comeback to the West Indies’ T20 squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup. In 2015, Ravi Rampaul made his last T20 appearance for West Indies. Jason Holder and Sheldon Cottrell have failed to find a place in the final squad for the mega event.

Darren Bravo, Akeal Hosein, Jason Holder and Sheldon Cottrell have been named as reserves for the showpiece event to be played in the UAE in October. All-rounder Kieron Pollard will lead the side for this year’s ICC T20 World Cup.

Uncapped batting all-rounder Roston Chase has been named in the squad after doing well in the recently concluded Caribbean Premier League. In seven matches played in CPL, Chase accumulated 281 runs at a strike rate of 151.07.

On the other hand, pacer Ravi Rampaul put in impressive bowling performances for Trinbago Knight Riders in this year’s CPL. In eight matches played, Rampaul claimed 17 wickets at an excellent economy rate of 7.20.

Another interesting fact is that Kieron Pollard will make his first appearance in an ICC tournament after 2013 ICC Champions Trophy.

West Indies Chief Selector, Roger Harper said that this has been tough procedure to pick the final squad for the ICC T20 World Cup. He further stated that there are plenty of star performers in the squad such as Andre Russell, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle and Evin Lewis. Harper said that the side has a great chance of defending the crown in the UAE.

Defending Champions West Indies are placed in Group 1 with teams like South Africa, England, Australia and two qualifying teams. The Men in Maroon will kick-start their campaign against Eoin Morgan’s England side at Dubai on 23rd October.

West Indies Squad for 2021 ICC T20 World Cup: Kieron Pollard (captain), Chris Gayle, Lendl Simmons, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Ravi Rampaul, Fabian Allen, Andre Fletcher, Nicholas Pooran, Roston Chase, Oshane Thomas, Obed McCoy, Hayden Walsh Jr. and Shimron Hetymer.

Reserves –Akeal Hosein, Sheldon Cottrell, Darren Bravo, Jason Holder

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *