South Africa announce ODI, T20 squads for Zimbabwe series

Cricket South Africa (CSA) have announced ODI and T20 squads for the upcoming home series against Zimbabwe. The series is going to begin from 30th September as South Africa will take on Zimbabwe in three-match one-day series followed by three T20Is.

Premier bowler Dale Steyn makes a comeback to the one-day side after being plagued with injuries over the past few years. The 35-year old has expressed his desire to play 2019 Cricket World Cup in England. He has been doing well in the English County Championship for Hampshire.

South Africa’s first-choice spinner Imran Tahir makes a return to the one-day setup after he was rested for series in Sri Lanka. Uncapped player Christiaan Jonker has earned his maiden call-up to the national side. Khaya Zondo, who has played three one-day games for South Africa has found a place in the squad.

The notable omissions from the squad are wicket-keeper batsman Quinton de Kock and David Miller, who retired from first-class cricket to prolong his limited-overs career. The young players have been picked to make sure South Africa can try out other players before Cricket World Cup next year.

Heinrich Klaasen will take over wicket-keeping duties for South Africa in the absence of Quinton de Kock. South Africa Captain Faf Du Plessis was included in the squad and will only play if he clears fitness Test.

Kagiso Rabada will not play in the three-match T20 series as uncapped players like Rassie van der Dussen and Gihahn Cloete have earned their maiden call-ups in the T20 format. Experienced all-rounder Robbie Frylinck has been included as he last played for South Africa in 2017.

ODI Squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), Khaya Zondo, Aiden Markam, Heinrich Klaasen, Hashim Amla, Reeza Hendricks, Wiann Mulder, Imran Tahir, Andile Phehlukwayo, Christiaan Jonker, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Dale Steyn, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi.

T20 Squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), JP Duminy, Rassie van der Dussen, Robbie Frylinck, Dane Paterson, Junior Dala, Quinton de Kock, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Imran Tahir, Quinton de Kock, Tabraiz Shamsi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Gihahn Cloete, Christiaan Jonker.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *