South Africa announce T20I squad for Sri Lanka series

Cricket South Africa (CSA) have named their T20 squad for the upcoming three-match series against Sri Lanka. Uncapped Anrich Nortje, Aiden Markram and Sinethemba Qeshile have been included in the squad for the series. Qeshile has been included in the squad due to his string of outstanding performances at the domestic level.

Captain Faf du Plessis will only take part in the opening game of the series while JP Duminy will take over the captaincy duties for the remaining two games. Wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock will also play the first game of the series.

CSA Chief Selector Linda Zondi said that the squad picked for the T20I series in order to explore various options for the upcoming Cricket World Cup. The core group of players remains the same and is included in the setup that took part in the one-day series against Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Zondi said that they have given opportunities to fringe players like Gihahn Cloete, Janneman Malan and Lutho Sipamla to showcase their skills for South Africa at the international stage. He also highlighted Sinethemba Qeshile as a bright prospect for the future after doing extremely in his debut season in franchise cricket.

Lungi Ngidi, Quinton de Kock, Kagiso Rabada and Faf du Plessis might be rested for the remaining two games of the T20I series. The players have been playing continuous cricket and will be rested in order to avoid burnout ahead of the upcoming global event like Cricket World Cup.

Squad for 1st T20: Faf du Plessis (captain), Rassie van der Dussen, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi Aiden Markram, David Miller, Imran Tahir, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Reeza Hendricks, Dwaine Pretorius, Dale Steyn.

Squad for remaining T20 games: JP Duminy (captain), Rassie van der Dussen, Tabraiz Shamsi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Lutho Sipamla, Dale Steyn, Sinethemba Qeshile, Chris Morris, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Aiden Markram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *