South Africa include Chris Morris and Duanne Olivier in the Test squad for the last two games against Australia

Chris Morris and Duanne Olivier have not played Test cricket for South Africa since September 2017.

South Africa have included Duanne Olivier and Chris Morris in the Test squad for the remainder of the series against Australia. The decision was made after Kagiso Rabada was handed out a two-match ban for his improper conduct in the second game at Port Elizabeth. However, the pace bowler has filed an appeal against the suspension being handed out by ICC officials.

Dale Steyn has effectively been ruled out of the remainder of the series. The premier bowler has yet to play a first-class game and has not played any sort of competitive cricket after his heel injury against India in the first game of the series at Newlands, Cape Town.

Cricket South Africa Chief Selector, Linda Zondi stated that the situation has demanded that all the bases be covered for the remaining two games. Zondi said that other players will be released to play for the franchises in the Sunfoil competition once the final XI for the third Test of the series is finalized. He also expressed complete satisfaction that the 15-man squad picked is the best available for South Africa at the moment. Olivier did exceedingly well for South Africa A in the practice game against Australia. All-rounder Chris Morris also comes into the Squad on the back splendid performances with bat and ball for Titans in the Sunfoil competition.

Chris Morris and Duanne Olivier haven’t played for South Africa in the five-day format in 2018. Morris was part of the Test squad picked for series against India and failed to find a place in the playing XI. He last played for South Africa at The Oval against England in 2017. Olivier last played in the home series against Bangladesh played in September 2017.

The four-match series is evenly poised at 1-1, with plenty to play for both sides in the last two games.

Test Squad: Faf du Plessis (c), Aiden Markram, AB De Villiers, Vernon Philander, Theunis De Bruyn, Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Willem Mulder, Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel, Lungi Ngidi, Temba Bavuma, Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *