Sri Lanka announce 15-man squad for 2019 Cricket World Cup

Sri Lanka have announced their 15-man squad for the upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup that will begin from 30th May. Lahiru Thiramanne, Milinda Siriwardena, Jeevan Mendis and Jeffrey Vandersay made their comeback in the limited-overs squad for the mega event.

Wicket-keeper Niroshan Dickwella, off-spinner Akila Dhananjaya, Danushka Gunathilaka and Upul Tharanga have been dropped due to poor form shown in the bilateral one-day series played against South Africa.

Newly-appointed Dimuth Karunaratne will be looking to do well in this World Cup. Since 2015, he has not played one-day cricket in Sri Lanka. The 15-man squad consists of four batsmen, one wicket-keeper, six all-rounders and four specialist bowlers.

The Islanders will be hoping that the likes of Angelo Matthews, Lahiru Thiramanne can do well in this year’s World Cup. The experienced players produced impressive numbers in the white-ball cricket and were automatic selections for 2019 Cricket World Cup.

Since December 2017, Thiramanne has not played one-day cricket for Sri Lanka. Recently, he smashed a century to make a strong case for selection in the World Cup squad. Matthews was the leading run-scorer in the Inter-Provincial Cricket competition with 227 runs in four innings.

All-rounder Jeevan Mendis played his last limited-overs game for Sri Lanka in March 2018. Leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay also played his last game in October 2017. He has also shown excellent form and picked four wickets in the last List A games played this season.

Wicket-keeper Kusal Perera has recovered from hamstring injury and is declared fit for the World Cup. Sri Lanka have gone through a terminal decline and yet to win a one-day game in 2019. They suffered whitewash in the five-match one-day series played against South Africa.

Sri Lanka’s World Cup squad: Dimuth Karunaratne, (captain), Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Milinda Siriwardena, Avishka Fernando, Jeevan Mendis, Lahiru Thiramanne, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lasith Malinga, Kusal Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Mendis, Isuru Udana, Nuwan Pradeep, Suranga Lakmal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *