Sri Lanka announce Test squad for the first Test against India

Sri Lanka has announced their 15-man squad for the first Test against India that begins from 26th July at Galle. Newly appointed Test skipper Dinesh Chandimal has been ruled out of the first two games of the series after suffering from pneumonia as experienced spinner Rangana Herath will become stand-in captain against India.

Vishwa Fernando and Malinda Pushpakumara have been added in the squad after their impressive performances at the domestic level. Pushpakumara who is a spinner produced mind boggling 21 wickets in a two games played against England Lions. Lahiru Thiramanne has been dropped from the side after being consistently out of form for the side. Danushka Gunathilaka has found his way into the side while Kusal Mendis and Dhananjaya de Silva are the in-form players for the side in the format.

Sri Lanka is set to host India for three Tests, five one day internationals and one-off T20 in the month of July and August.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.