Sri Lanka Cricket Board appoints Graeme Labrooy as chief selector of national side

Sri Lanka Cricket Board has named former pace bowler Graeme Labrooy as chief selector of the national cricket team. He replaces legendary player Sanath Jayasuriya who resigned from the post on 29th August during the one-day series between India and Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka Cricket Board (SLC) has confirmed the news that Labrooy has been nominated as the leader of selection committee. The board has yet to announce other individuals that will make up the selection committee headed by Labrooy.

Graeme Labrooy has represented Sri Lanka in 9 Tests and 44 One day Internationals from 1986 to 1992.  He has 27 wickets to his name in Test cricket including a five-wicket haul at The Gabba in Brisbane against Australia. Sri Lanka Cricket Board has appointed former captain and batsman Aravinda De Silva in an advisory role after the national side terminal decline in all formats.

The former pace bowler stated that he had turned down the opportunity to work with the national side on many occasions. He said he rejected the offer when the side was performing well but he said he accepted the offer at a time when Sri Lanka cricket looks in deep trouble with the side performing poorly in the last year or so.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *