Sri Lanka include uncapped Malinda Pushpakumara and Vikrum Sanjaya for Bangladesh test series

Sri Lanka is set to host Bangladesh for a two-match test series in the month of March after being comprehensively beaten by South Africa in South Africa. The first game of the series will be played at Galle International Stadium on 7th March on Tuesday. The second game will be played on 15th March at P Sara Oval, Colombo to conclude the series. Rangana Herath is named as stand-in captain for Sri Lanka after Angelo Matthews sustained a hamstring injury that has ruled out him for atleast three months.

The squad includes new players as uncapped Malinda Pushpakumara has been called up for his good performances for Srilanka A side who beat England Lions in an unofficial test match.Vikum Sanjaya is another uncapped player included in the squad but he did feature in the T20 series for Sri Lanka in Australia. Bangladesh will play their warm game at Morutuwa.

Squad: Rangana Herath (c), Kusal Mendis (wk), Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara,  Asela Gunaratne, Dimuth Karunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Upul Tharanga, Dhananjaya de Silva, Nuwan Pradeep, Vikum Sanjaya Bandara, Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Malinda Pushpakumara.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.