Sri Lanka to host tri-nation series featuring India and Bangladesh in 2018

Sri Lanka is set to host a T20 tri-nation series in the month of March next year featuring India and Bangladesh. The series will be played between 8th March till 20th March. All the sides will play two games each before the grand finale. The matches will be played at Colombo.

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Chief Executive Rahul Johri stated that India is honored to be part of 70th year celebrations of Sri Lanka. He said that India shares a close bond with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh respectively. BCCI agreed to Mr Thilanga Sumathipala’s invitation to participate in the t20 tri-nation series without any hesitation.

The tri-nation is being hosted due to Sri Lanka’s 70 years of independence celebrations. The tournament has been the Nidahas Trophy. The trophy was once played in 1998 to celebrate Sri Lanka’s 50 years of independence. Sri Lanka is currently touring India for a full-fledged series and trail 1-0 in the three-match Test series. The two countries have been regularly playing each other across all three formats for last couple of years.

Sri Lankan Cricket President Thilanga Sumathipala spoke to the press and said that tournament is being held to commemorate Sri Lanka’s 70 years independence. He said that the country is keen to share its celebrations with its closest neighbors in India and Bangladesh. The trophy might prove to a big landmark and will become the starting point of many great things to come in cricket for Sri Lanka.

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) President Nazmul Hassan Papon also spoke in relation to the tri-nation series and said that the Sri Lanka has provided immense support and co-operation to Bangladesh in terms of cricket journey. The invitation sent by Sri Lanka was a clear indication of cordial relations between the cricketing nations. The competition will definitely build a closer bond between India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.