Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard included in the West Indies squad for T20I series

All-rounder Kieron Pollard and off-spinner Sunil Narine have made a comeback to the T20 squad for the upcoming three-match series against India. The 14-man squad was announced on 23rd June. All-rounder Andre Russell have been included in the T20 squad despite having fitness issues in recent times.

Opening batsman Chris Gayle is missing from the T20 squad for India series and is all set to participate in Canada’s Global T20 League instead. Off-spinner Sunil Narine last made his appearance for West Indies in September in a T20 game played against England.

Wicket-keeper Anthony Bramble earned his maiden call-up to the national side. He has only played 12 T20 games and will be looking to make an impression against India in the three-match T20I series.

Opening batsman John Campbell and bowling all-rounder Khary Pierre have been included in the West Indies squad for the T20I series.

Interim Chief Selector Robert Hayne said that the squad selected for the T20I against India has excellent blend of youth coupled with experience. The 14-man squad has been picked in order to adequate preparation for the upcoming T20 World Cup that will be played in Australia next year.

In the Caribbean Premier League draft, Guyana Amazon Warriors signed Anthony Bramble for the upcoming competition. Bramble has produced decent performances for West Indies B Team that participated in the Global T20 League in Canada.

Nicholas Pooran has been picked as the premier wicket-keeper for this upcoming T20I series that starts from 3rd August. Left-hander had an excellent outing with the bat in 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup played in England and Wales

The first two games of the series will be played on 3rd and 4th August at Launderhill in Florida. The final game will be played at Providence Stadium, Guyana on 6th August.

Squad: Carlos Brathwaite (captain), John Campbell, Keemo Paul, Sunil Narine, Sheldon Cottrell, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Oshane Thomas, Anthony Bramble, Andre Russell, Khary Pierre.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *