Tom Banton, Pat Brown earn maiden ODI call-ups for South Africa series

Pacer Pat Brown and wicket-keeper Tom Banton have received their maiden call-up to the England’s limited-overs squad for South Africa series. Premier batsman Joe Root has been dropped from the T20I squad for three-match series against South Africa that will be played in February. Saqib Mahmood and Matt Parkinson are the other two players to have earned their maiden call up for tour to South Africa.

Joe Root was rested for the five-match T20I series against New Zealand in the month of November. England selectors opted to field new players for the T20I series in New Zealand. Root looked jaded and was given rest after grueling schedule that included Cricket World Cup and Ashes series against Australia. After his latest exclusion, it is clear that selectors are looking for other options before the 2020 T20 World Cup in Australia.

Competition for places is a quite tough as the likes of Dawid Malan showcased exceptional form with the bat in the five-match T20I series against New Zealand. In 9 T20I matches, Malan has accumulated 458 runs at a strike rate of 156.31. He has one century and five half-centuries to his name.

Jos Buttler, Jason Roy and Jonny Bairstow have been included in both the T20I and ODI squads for South Africa series. Eoin Morgan will lead England for the ODI and T20I series. Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer and Mark Wood were rested for the New Zealand series. The selection committee has decided to select their strongest squad for three-match T20I series against South Africa.

Sam Billings, Tom Banton, Lewis Gregory, James Vince and Saqib Mahmood have been dropped from the T20 squad. Despite being dropped for the T20I series, pacer Saqib Mahmood and wicket-keeper opening batsman Tom Banton have been included in the 16-man squad for three-match one-day series against South Africa. The opening game of the series will be played at Newlands, Cape Town on 4th February.

Jofra Archer, Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes and Mark Wood have been rested for the one-day series but will play three-match T20I series. After scoring a lot of runs in the five-match series against New Zealand, Malan will be looking to showcase his ability with the bat in the 50-over format. Chris Jordan and Joe Denly have been included in both the T20I and ODI squads for the series in South Africa.

England ODI squad: Eoin Morgan, Moeen Ali, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Chris Jordan, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Pat Brown, Sam Curran, Matthew Parkinson, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Chris Woakes.

England T20 squad: Eoin Morgan, , Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Pat Brown, Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Matt Parkinson, Mark Wood.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *